If you only read one thing this week…


Feeling overwhelmed by email? Declare bankruptcy! by ifyouonlyreadonethingthisweek
May 30, 2007, 4:38 pm
Filed under: If you only have 15 mins, Time management

The Washington Post is running an article here about people who have gotten so far behind, and so overwhelmed by the volume of email that they get that they have erased it all and either started over, or sworn off email altogether.

“Last month, venture capitalist Fred Wilson … declared a 21st century kind of bankruptcy. In a posting on his blog … Wilson announced he was giving up on responding to all the e-mail piled up in his inbox.

“I am so far behind on e-mail that I am declaring bankruptcy,” he wrote. “If you’ve sent me an e-mail (and you aren’t my wife, partner, or colleague), you might want to send it again. I am starting over.”

Stanford University technology professor Lawrence Lessig publicly declared e-mail bankruptcy [a while back] after being deluged by thousands of e-mails. “I eventually got to be so far behind that I was either going to spend all my time answering e-mails or I was going to do my job,”

“I’d get to work and start answering e-mail — three hours later, I’d say, “Oh, what was I supposed to do today?” Knuth said that he has no regrets.

Of course, if you don’t want the public shame of bankruptcy, you could always declare a hard-drive crash!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

